Well then

So I decided what this world needs is another blog.

I appreciate there are many blogs out there.  In fact I’d go so far as to say there are many like it.  But this one is mine.

The simple background is that I can get a bit opinionated at times.  This seems like a much better forum to do that in than Facebook or Twitter, as not only is it open for others to join in on, but it has the additional attractions of a) not being Facebook or Twitter, b) being much easier to format and post to, and c) I cget to moderate comments.  Mwah ha ha!  Actually, (c) has some appeal on extreme offchance I might eventually attract the types of comment dealt with here, so I can take great pleasure in editing them to read like bad ‘your mum’ jokes at the commentors expense.  You’ve been warned…

The other reason for setting this up is that I have an ever increasing frustration with the way science is often communicated. Seeing as I’m a firm believer that if something is broken, you may as well do what you can to fix it, this blog seems as good a place as any to start.  So while you can expect a fair amount of just personal ranting about whatever has particularly wound me up on a given occaision, I will also be trying to focus on current events or science themes which you may find interesting, and take a look at the way that these things are portrayed within the media.  I’m an earth scientist by trade, so there will almost certainly be a bit of bias on that front, but don’t be surprised if you find pieces about any number of other subjects here.

Anyway, back to work.

About Pete Rowley

Earth Science researcher. Enjoys a good rant, beer, and watching films with Angelina in them. Dislikes reality TV, crowds, and unreasonable people.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

