Things wot I ‘av learned

Last June when I started this blog, my reasoning was that it provided a very much better vehicle for the various notes, rants and diatribes that I was otherwise just dumping on Facebook.  I rapidly came to the realisation that actually this could be something more.

That said, I never really changed my style or approach to the writing.  The posts to this blog have almost exclusively been rapidly written single-draft pieces, written as I went along.  That lends them a certain flow, but it also means that the overall structure can be somewhat lacklustre.  I also tend to post the thing, then go back and edit changes 15-30 minutes later, after a cup of tea.

That system was all very well for when this was little more than a link for a handful of real-life friends.  They know my personality, they appreciate there is a good amount of hyperbole and dry humour in the way I write, and the writing itself was done on the fly in little windows of time I found available.  Those assumptions and systems don’t necessarily translate well to new readers.

I’m very proud to be able to say the blog has developed something of a loyal following in the last 6 months or so, and I don’t think it’s doing me or you lot any favours to carry on in quite the same way.  This was particularly highlighted for me yesterday when I made the somewhat hyperbolic claim that “science journalism is completely failing to communicate science”.  I knew as I typed it that I didn’t mean it. In actual fact I had intended to cut and paste it out to the post title as a perfect example of a hyperbolic headline.  However, my aforementioned writing method meant I never looked back on it before posting the piece, and by the time I spotted the edit needed making I realised people had already picked up on the comment. At that point it seemed a little churlish to edit it out as I had meant to.

So, bearing in mind my stated opinion on New Year resolutions, here’s another one:

I’ll be endeavouring to plan, proof read, and edit much more prior to hitting the post button.  I guess it’s a transition a lot of bloggers have to make sooner or later.

Do not think this means I’m going to get any less ranty or annoyed. It just means there are going to be less semantic errors to pick holes in.

About Pete Rowley

Earth Science researcher. Enjoys a good rant, beer, and watching films with Angelina in them. Dislikes reality TV, crowds, and unreasonable people.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things wot I ‘av learned

  1. Pingback: Some ways in which science journalists demonstrate they don’t understand science journalism | geologygeek

  2. Pingback: Welcome to a new age | lithics

Leave a Reply

