Culinary intermission

Not had a chance to post for a while, and work is mental so I’m avoiding writing about geology in what spare time I do have – apologies, normal service will be resumed shortly.

Between data production and analysis, prepping a load of conference materials, working up some new papers, as well as the extreme fun* of grant and fellowship proposals to keep me in work when this contract ends in 6 months I’m really looking forward to a nice quiet week in Vienna in April, where I can cruise around EGU absorbing some Top Science™.

In the mean time I’ve been distracting myself with a number of projects.  Following the success of the home-made cold smoker and pit roast last year, I’m now drawing up plans for the next few months experiments.  The last 6 weeks have seen the start of the brewing season, with about 160 pints of various ales now scattered about the house in assorted states of fermentation.  I also bottled up last years hedgerow wine – a rather brilliant combination of blackberries and elderberries.  I think I might have outdone myself with this little number, so I’m keeping the dozen or so 0.5 L bottles I have under tight lock and key.

Alongside all that my housemate has successfully made a test batch of dry-cured bacon, prior to a much larger scale run which we will also be smoking.  So now we’re on the lookout for a couple of decent sides of pork belly.  Bacon and sausages will be ours.

On a related note, we came home last weekend to find that another friend who has access to some home-reared pork had left a pigs head on our doorstep.  It was only later that I realised that some people might take offense at that kind of behaviour.  You can never have too much brawn. Although  I confess that calling it ‘pig-face paté’ may not be the greatest sales pitch.

So, in summary, at some point over the next few months you can expect some more food stuff as I report on progress.  Although I think I’m going to avoid dabbling in bread much again; my last couple of attempts have been a little too geological in texture…

*not extreme fun.

About Pete Rowley

Earth Science researcher. Enjoys a good rant, beer, and watching films with Angelina in them. Dislikes reality TV, crowds, and unreasonable people.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

